Home Page

Our Governors

Arboretum School Governors

4 year term



Chair of Governors Olivia Dean 4 year term Appointed by governing body
Vice Chair Richard Benfield 4 year term

Appointed by governing body

Head Teacher Paul Scott Ongoing Appointed by the school
Co-Opted Governors

Parveen Ali

Richard Benfield

Thomas Flannery

Mark Smith

Chris Wynn

Lynda Wynn

4 year term Appointed by governing body
LA Governor Olivia Dean 4 year term Appointed by LA
Staff Governor Amy Burdis 4 year term Appointed via school staff election process
Parent Governor Uzma Lal 2 year term Appointed via parent election process



Co-opted governors are appointed by the governing body and are people who the governing body believes have skills which will contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.


Staff governors are elected by the school staff. Both teaching and support staff employed to work at the school are eligible for staff governorship; volunteers are not eligible.


Local authority governors are appointed by the local authority or nominated by the local authority and appointed by the governing body.


Parents, including carers, of pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election as parent governors. They are elected by other parents.  If not enough parents stand for election, the governing body can appoint parent governors.  The law does not allow elected members of the local authority, or people who work at the school for more than 500 hours in a year, to become parent governors.

Governor Committees
All governors are eligible to attend committee meetings. However only the people listed below hold voting rights within the committee.

Resources Committee

Thomas Flannery (Chair)

Mark Smith

Richard Benfield

Lynda Wynn

Standards Committee

Olivia Dean (Chair)

Parveen Ali

Amy Burdis

Christopher Wynn

Governor Responsiblities
Specialist Area Responsible Governor
Child Protection / Safeguarding

Olivia Dean

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Amy Burdis
Health and Safety Mark Smith
Pupil Premium Lynda Wynn
Looked After Children Olivia Dean
Sports Premium Amy Burdis
Website Mark Smith


Contact Details

Please contact the Chair of Governors via the school office:

Telephone 01332 291140


Governor Attendance